Vacation Recap Day 6: Pastries & Kiddos

Day 6:

On Tuesday morning, I woke up to a quiet house.  Michael’s dad had gone to do some work, and everyone else was still asleep.

Even though I’m a people person in so many ways, I need my alone time too.  And since we’d been on vacation, I hadn’t had much of it.  I don’t know if anyone else is like this, but I’d also been missing my time with God.  It seems like this happens every vacation.  Needless to say, I was very happy for the quietness that morning.

A few hours later, everyone was awake and Michael’s mom fixed us breakfast while we visited with his grandma.  It was really sweet to be able to listen to her memories and things.

Some of Michael’s extended family from the Valley stopped by, and we visited with them until his dad came home.  It started getting closer and closer to the time when we needed to leave, and Michael and I decided to go to the Mexican Bakery with his dad to save time on the way out.

I’d never been to a Mexican Bakery (they called it something different, but I can’t remember what they said…) but Michael was really excited about it.  When we went in, it looked like a self-serve donut shop (like at the Wal-Mart bakery)–but it was full of Mexican pastries instead.

I had no clue what anything was, so I asked Michael to help me pick out some things to try.  I’m not a huge sweets person.  I’d rather have fruit than chocolate, and I’d rather eat cake than the icing.  But there were lots of pastries that looked like they’d be good.  We ended up getting these:

The three sugary things are Michael’s, and the three plain things are mine.  I don’t know what any of them are called.  I’d love to say that I tried everything and it was all wonderful, but in reality, I only tried one little bite of the heart-looking thing all week.  I was nervous that we were going to be late to my aunt’s house that night, and I just lost my appetite.  And then I just forgot about them the rest of the week.  I think Michael ate one of his things and then forgot about the others too.  But the one bite I did eat was pretty good.

When we got back to Michael’s grandma’s house, we were all packed up and ready to go.  Before we left, we took some pictures with his grandma.  She is SUCH a sweet lady.  I’m so happy that we were able to spend so much time with her.

There ended up being no traffic, and by the time we went to his parents’ house, changed quickly, and drove to my aunt’s house, we were only about 30 minutes late–much better than what we were expecting!

.

When we knocked on Rachel and Jay’s door, we heard lots of running around and screaming inside.  “They’re here!” “They’re here!” “Open the door!”  Let’s just say, it’s so easy to feel loved when you can hear little kids being excited to see you!  My Aunt Rachel opened the door, and there were three adorable, excited cousins waiting.

And they were ready to play!

We had so much fun getting on the floor and playing with E, S, and N!  They’re all three just bundles of energy.  We played with little figurines and cars and all kinds of things.  S found a toy gun and started “Pow, Pow!”-ing everyone, so we all had to act like we’d been shot.  Michael also became a jungle gym.

All this time, we were also visiting with Rachel and Jay.  I guess you can say we had a lesson in multi-tasking with kids.  It was the best of both worlds.

E was being SO sweet to me.  She kept on giving me big hugs and thanking me for coming to see them.  I can’t believe how big she’s getting–she’ll be starting Kindergarten in the fall!  And the boys are growing up too!  The first time Michael met them, they were still in diapers, and now they’re running around and talking like big boys.

After dinner (Rachel made an amazing lasagna!), we went outside to play for a while.  When I walked outside, this is what I saw:

He’s going to be a good dad someday!

Rachel and I sat and visited while Michael played with the kids, and then he came over and joined us–his hair stylist came along…

When we went back inside, the kids had a few more minutes to play with us:

And then it was “relax time”.  Jay put in Snow White for the kids to calm down, and we had a chance to sit down and visit some more.

E wanted to take some pictures with my camera, and these are a few of her shots:

I love looking at pictures that kids take!  It’s so cute to be able to see their perspective.

Part-way through the movie, it was time for the boys to go to bed.  But we made sure to get a picture before they went!

Aren’t they so cute?!  We’d had so much fun with them!  All three of them had gown up so much since the last time we’d seen them (a year ago at a family reunion).  After the boys went to bed, we stayed for a little bit longer and visited some more.  Oh–and Rachel inspired us to get serious about training for a race.  It was great to hear all about hers.  She’s done shorter races and half-marathons and even some sprint triathlons!  (**We haven’t started actually training yet because my back has been messed up since our trip, but we’re determined to soon!)

We left with big smiles on our faces.  It was great to be able to spend time with some of my family, and to visit with the “grown-ups” and play with the kiddos.  It’d been a really great time!

We left Rachel and Jay’s and went to HEB to buy some stuff for our picnic lunch at Six Flags Fiesta Texas the next day!   We were SUPER excited!

.

–Staci

.

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

4 responses to “Vacation Recap Day 6: Pastries & Kiddos

  • Denise C.

    What a sweet visit with your family! Thanks for sharing!

  • Rachel(Ninja)

    Ooo, were there any savory pastries there? I could go for something like that right now!

    Aww, looks like you had a blast with the kiddies! I haven’t really been around kids lately. It used to be all about the kids when my mom’s side of the family got together. However, now the “2nd generation cousins” (we’re obviously not separated by a generation, but there’s an age gap between the older cousins and the younger cousins) are now in 7th-9th grade! Uh, when did that happen? Just yesterday we were carrying them around!

  • mselizondo

    I’m sure there were…Everything looked great!

    It was so much fun being with them! On my dad’s side, there are 5 of us my age or 2 years older. Then my brother (who is 2 yrs younger) and a few others, and a big group of 13 and 14 year olds, and then they’re pretty spread out from them all the way down to a month old!! (I have 30 first cousins on his side) Then on my mom’s side, there are my two older cousins (13 and 9 yrs older than me), my brother and me, and then every age from 14 down to 9 and a couple of younger ones. We kinda have the two generation thing going on there… Isn’t it so crazy how they’re all growing up?? I feel like my sister was 5 yesterday and now she’s 13!

Leave a Reply

