Books Page

I just wanted to let you all know that I’ve added a Books Page to our blog.  You can click on the tab at the top or the list at the right.  Each book has a short description and what I thought about it.  You can click on each title to see that book on Amazon.  Right now I only have one genre up but I’ll be working on adding more all the time.

YEP.  I’m a nerd.

.

–Staci

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

8 responses to “Books Page

  • Lisa Souza

    Yep, you are…but I love it!

  • Ann

    oooh! I love that idea! I can’t wait to see what you’ve been reading. Yup, I’m a nerd too, and proud of it!

    • mselizondo

      Well, once I started making a list, I decided I wanted to add books that I’ve liked for a long time too. So it just keeps growing and growing… Be sure to leave any suggestions in the comments!

  • Rachel(Ninja)

    Nerd ❤ Can't wait to check out the tab!

    Haha, when my students (or friends) say that they're bored or when they talk about things like video games or going out or anything like that, I said, "Read a book!" Haha, and it's not just because I'm a teacher!

    I'm a strong believer that reading keeps your mind sharp and really helps you get smarter. I say it all the time to my students' parents during curriculum conferences. I tell them that their kids obviously have to read books on their reading level for reports and projects and such that I'm grading. Other than that, I tell them that they should encourage their kids to read ANYTHING even if it's below their reading level.

    I mean, I JUST finished rereading for the 2nd time around all of the Super Specials in the Babysitter's Club series. They were my favorite as I grew up. I used to have dreams that I'd find them in the book store or the library (they don't have them anymore, the originals at least) and I had to decide which one to buy because I only had money for one (this was a recurring dream). Finally, Weird helped me bid on the sets and individual copies on eBay so I could have every single one from the Super Specials!

    I was a good student throughout my life, and I actually attribute a lot of that to reading BSC. I knew how to use certain words and construct sentences better than my peers who HATED reading. Plus, I knew about things like dyslexia, diabetes, autism, and more from the books.

    Despite all this, my kids still don't believe me that reading can help. Haha, guess they'll have to learn on their own! Hopefully, I have more students who turn into nerds just like you ❤ And you know I say that with love!

    • mselizondo

      I agree! I don’t know that I’ve ever been bored in my life–as long as I’ve been able to have a book with me. I was stuck in bed with my hurt back while Michael was at church and I started reading one of my old favorite books too. I was on pg 88 when he came home. Hehe–I like that I’m a nerd!

      I used to LOVE LOVE LOVE the BSC! I have a lot of the books, but no where near all of them. I might have to go back and read a few one of these days. Hehe that’s such a funny dream. It’s crazy how they can seem so real.

      I think it definitely helped me be able to write and just helped over-all. Michael and I have already talked about reading with our kids and how we’ll even read family books out loud (he and I like to read out loud on car trips to pass the time) sometimes. I think it’s great!

      Yeah–go check out the page! I’ve only finished the fiction stuff and kids stuff since those are my favorites. You’ll have to add some of your favorites in the comments section!

Leave a Reply

