Game Night!

Last Saturday, we had a game night–just the two of us.  We played four of our favorite games, and I thought I’d share what they are in case you’re interested.  We LOVE all of these games–they’re great for two people or a small group.

.

First up:  Blockus.  I’d bought this for my grandparents for Christmas last year, and our whole family ended up getting addicted to it.  We eventually bought it for ourselves.

This game is for 2-4 players.  The point is to lay as many of your tiles down as possible–but you can only touch your other pieces at the tips–none of the flat sides can touch.  While you’re trying to lay yours down, you’re also trying to block the other player(s) so that they can’t lay any more down.  All of the tiles are different shapes, so it gets pretty tough at the end.

Here’s an example of our board after one of the games.  (Oh–and you hardly ever get to lay all of your tiles down…)

We tied one, and then I won one.  And this is how Michael felt about that!

.

Michael got to choose the next game, and he chose Monopoly Deal.

This is a Monopoly card game.  His mom had bought it before she came to visit last summer, and after we played a round and figured out all of the different cards, we loved it.  She ended up leaving it for us and buying them another one.

You have three different types of cards: properties, money, and action cards.  Each turn, you can play up to three cards.  The point is to get three complete property sets.  It’s harder than it sounds, though, because you can play all sorts of action cards that steal properties from other players and things like that.

Michael won both of our rounds!  (He almost always wins this game…)

.

Our next game is my favorite:  Ticket to Ride!  My parents bought this for us for Christmas, and I just love it!  Michael likes it too, but I usually win and he hates that.

I think this is for up to six players.  Each player is dealt two short routes and one long route.  They’re also given five color train cards.  The point is to complete your routes (for example, making trains from Seattle to New York) using the different color train cards.

Michael was a punk, and he blocked me from getting my last route (the other players don’t know where you’re trying to go/what your routes are, but he took a gamble and blocked where he thought I might go).  Because of that, he beat me by a ton.

But I came back and beat him the next game, so it was all good.

.

Our last game was Michael’s choice again.  He picked one of both of our favorites:  Disney Scene It!

We have the first edition game.  I bought my family the second edition a few years ago, and I didn’t know almost any movies!  They were all too recent.  The first edition has some of the really old movies like “Herbie the Love Bug” and then it has movies as recent as “Atlantis”.  But most of the movies are from when we were growing up.

We’re both REALLY competitive at this one since we’re pretty equal skill-wise.  We both love Disney movies (and Disney World, though Michael isn’t as quick to admit it…), and it usually comes down to who can roll higher numbers on the dice.

Donald (Michael) won the first game by a ton (all I could roll were ones and twos!), and Minnie (I) won the second by one question.

.

We had a TON of fun with our game night!  I love that we both like things like this.  One of these days, I’ll do a post about our favorite group games.  We both just LOVE playing games!

.

.

–Staci

.

Q for you:  What are your favorite two-person or small group games?

.

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

4 responses to “Game Night!

  • Denise C.

    We love games, too! I do more than Tom, but he will play along! lol Our kids just recently taught us to play Apples to Apples. You have to have at least 4 for that, though. We also like Mad Gab, very fun! For just us two, we play Double 12 Dominoes, Yahtzee, Disney Scene It, Backgammon, and Rummikub. Oh, and Pit is sooooo fun (and loud) if you have a group of 3 or more!

    • mselizondo

      Apples to Apples is one of our favorite group games! Isn’t it great?! Ooohh–I’ve heard a lot about Mad Gab, but I’ve never played. I’ll have to try it out. I used to play Yahtzee and Rummikub with my family growing up; we’ll have to look into getting those. I think I played Pit at a camp one time…is it where you make the animal sounds? It was hilarious! Thanks for the suggestions!

  • Rachel(Ninja)

    Ooo, I LOVE board games and word games! Haha, it’s clearly something Howard and I love since he used Bananagrams as part of the proposal.

    I’ve seen Blokus but never knew what it was about. Thanks for the explanation! I can see Howard totally dominating at this game because he’s very good with spatial reasoning and such. Haha, word games USED to be my thing, but he’s getting much better!

    Is Monopoly Deal easier to learn than regular Monopoly? Haha, despite how many times I tried reading those directions, I never understood it! Of course, that’s when I was a kid and didn’t know what all those house words meant! Plus, my older brother used to always take the directions away from me so we could just play. Oh, and so he could cheat! Haha, if I landed on HIS property, I always had to pay the most expensive price on the card. If the opposite happened, he paid the least expensive price! Funny how that always happened …

    Haha, I laughed when you said “Michael was a punk.” You guys are too cute!

    I have a bunch of favorite games! I should do a post like this on my blog! There are just way too many for me to name: Bananagrams (of course!), Boggle, The Magic Kingdom Game, Blurt, Guesstures, Taboo, Chinese Checkers, etc … I wish we had more time for board games!

    • mselizondo

      I’ll have to look some of those games up! I’ve played some of them, but I’ve never even heard of others.

      We really like Blokus! And even little kids can play it–my little cousin is 9 and he won one of the games! I don’t know if I’d say Monopoly Deal is easier, it’s just different. It’s WAY faster, though. Haha–what a meanie! It’s funny how gullible younger siblings can be…can you tell I’m the oldest? : )

Leave a Reply

