A New Favorite Meal

I love cooking.  I always have.  Some of my earliest memories are sitting on the counter and helping my mom make Rice Krispie Treats or Jell-O.  When I was ten, I made my first meal all by myself.

I love making up different recipes/just throwing a bunch of seasonings together with chicken or sauces or dessert.  While this is what I do most of the time, I also love to find recipes (with normal ingredients) and try them out every once in a while.

.

I found this recipe for Sweet and Sour Chicken on the Tasty Kitchen Website.  By the way, if you’re looking for some good recipes, this site or the regular Poineer Woman cooking section are both amazing.  (By the way, I made the full recipe the first time because I was cooking for 4 people, but this last time, I only made somewhere around a 1/3 of the recipe for the two of us.  Both times, we had left-overs, and they were still fantastic!)

.

Sweet and Sour Chicken (by Melanie)

.

Ingredients:

  • 3 whole Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • Salt And Pepper
  • 1 cup Cornstarch
  • 2 whole Eggs, Lightly Beaten
  • ¼ cups Canola Oil
  • FOR THE SAUCE:
  • ¾ cups Sugar
  • 4 Tablespoons Ketchup
  • ½ cups Vinegar
  • 1 Tablespoon Soy Sauce
  • 1 teaspoon Garlic Salt

.

Instructions:

  • Cut chicken breasts into chunks. Season with salt and pepper. Dip chicken in cornstarch and then in egg (yes, this will be messy but it will be worth it, I promise!). Fry in a little oil until browned on all sides but not cooked through.

  • Place in a single layer in a baking dish.  (Again, this is with one chicken breast instead of 3.)

  • Mix sauce ingredients together and pour over chicken.

  • Bake for one hour at 325 degrees F. Turn chicken every 15 minutes. If you like extra sauce, make another batch of sauce and bring it to a boil on the stovetop. Stir constantly and let cook over medium heat until thickened and reduced, about 6 to 8 minutes.

.

Oh my goodness, this stuff is SOOO yummy!  For sides, I made some white Minute Rice and Fresh Green Beans.

I found the Green Beans in the organic veggies section.   The instructions said to steam them, but I wanted them to taste like the ones at Chinese Restaurant Buffets, so I sauteed them in a little olive oil and soy sauce.  I stirred them every once in a while and took them off when they were soft enough to eat but still a little crisp.

The last time we ate it, Pineapples were still in season so I cut up a fresh pineapple into 8 sections (after I took out the core and cut the outside off).  Then I put them in a baking dish and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top.  I cooked them until they were somewhat soft, and then served them with the chicken.  They complimented each other perfectly!

.

If you want to try this recipe, give yourself at least an hour and a half (it has to cook for an hour) before you want to serve dinner.  But I guarantee you’ll love it!

.

.

–Staci

.

Q for You:  What is your new favorite recipe?  If you found it online, you can leave the link in the comments section!

.

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

10 responses to “A New Favorite Meal

  • Denise C.

    My sister LOVES the pioneer woman website. She has tried many of the recipes and they are all great!

  • Denise C.

    Forgot to say the baked pineapple sounds delicious! Our local Safeway has had them for 1.99 recently, so I might be trying that out!!!

  • Ann

    I have to admit that I am not a great cook, but this recipe looks easy enough that I shouldn’t mess it up too badly. And the end product looks yummy! Thanks for sharing!

  • Rachel(Ninja)

    I seriously have to start cooking. Haha, my aunt’s been giving me her cooking magazines that she doesn’t want anymore since I asked her for cookbook suggestions (she’s the kind of person – as is my uncle – who can go to a restaurant and taste something and know what was used to cook it). She said I should use my family as a guinea pig now before I get married!

    I haven’t done dinner yet, but I did make that aunt’s warm German potato salad. So good! It took me a LONG time to make it though even though it shouldn’t have. I had to keep adjusting the dressing recipe because it was too sour from the vinegar. I must have tasted at least 8 dips of the spoon in the vinegar!

    About the recipe you tried, I like that you didn’t steam the green beans. Very rarely do Chinese boil or steam veggies. It loses more vitamins that way. The only time a vegetable is really cooked down is if it’s in soup. That way all the nutrients are in the broth.

    As much as I don’t like Chinese food, I have to say that “they” know their stuff. When my mom used to make soup more often and we had Chinese food every single day except for one day a week, we all used to be so healthy. I rarely got sick. Now we have soup MAYBE once every two weeks (mom’s in the process of finding a job so everything at home is a little up in the air). My immune system, which started failing me in high school, weakened even more. We complain about drinking the soup, but it works (ex. chicken and carrot).

    Oh! I started a blog! I don’t know if I sent it to you or not, so I’ll send it via FB.

    • mselizondo

      Yep–make your family the guinea pigs! You’ll be glad you did when you become an awesome cook for Howard. 🙂

      I’ve never made potato salad….so you’ve got one up on me there. That’s good to know about Chinese veggies! I’ve always LOVED the green beans at Chinese restaurants, and I’m glad I figured out a way to make them taste similar.

      Is egg drop soup full of good nutrients? It’s my favorite! Maybe you can learn how to make the soup and then it’ll help everyone out! I’ll go over and get the link for your blog right now.

  • Amanda

    Ok I’m super late but I wanted to say that this looks delicious and I’m going to TRY ( most things I make are inedible) to make it.

    Heres my fav. recipe of the moment. The only change I make is swap out 2 cups of water for low sodium chicken broth and leave the bouillon cubes out… they have cray amounts of sodium! I also dont put in the marjoram leaves, just because I dont have any in the cupboard. It’s super easy, which is why I can make it haha!

    http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/slow-cooker-butternut-squash-soup/b9c01762-0904-42ba-9bdc-67c9912fe37e

  • mselizondo

    Ooohh–that recipe looks really yummy! I’ll have to try it out this winter.

Leave a Reply

