A Chinese Kick

I must be on a Chinese food kick.  It’s just so yummy!  Last night, I made Crab Rangoons.  I found them on the Tasty Kitchen website as well.  It says that it only takes 15 minutes for prep and 3 minutes to cook, but it took me close to an hour.  I guess I’m not a Crab Rangoon Whiz yet…

.

Crab Rangoons (by mainedish)

.

Ingredients:

  • 2 whole Scallions
  • 8 ounces, weight Imitation Crab Meat
  • 1 whole Sweet Red Bell Pepper
  • 12 ounces, weight Cream Cheese
  • 8 ounces, weight Feta Cheese
  • 1 Tablespoon Dijon Mustard
  • 1 Tablespoon White Wine
  • 1 package (12 Oz. Package) Wonton Wrappers

(By the way, I made a half recipe, and it made enough for 18 rangoons, with enough left-over filling for at least 10 more.  I also used a little less red pepper than she called for and left out the scallion.  And I forgot to put the white cooking wine in this picture…)

.

Instructions:

  • Chop the scallions, crab meat and the red bell pepper. Add to a mixing bowl along with the cream cheese, feta, mustard and white wine.

  • Season with salt and pepper to taste. At this point you can refrigerate the mixture overnight if you like.

  • To wrap, lay a wonton wrapper on your work surface and place a tablespoon of the mixture in the center.

  • Fold the wonton to form a triangle, wetting the edges with a bit of water to seal. Then, fold the sides towards the center, overlapping and wetting with a dab of water to secure.

  • Deep fry in hot oil (350 degrees) until golden brown, about 3 minutes, turning to make sure it is evenly browned.

I placed them on a paper towel to soak up the extra grease.

Oh–and the little black parts are from where previous rangoons were a little too full and they leaked in the oil.  But it didn’t affect the way they tasted at all.

.

I also decided to get creative with some of the won-ton wrappers (I had to buy them in OKC since Ada isn’t the greatest for finding anything out of the ordinary at the grocery stores).  I wanted to make little dessert won-tons, so I mixed cream cheese, feta cheese, and sugar together.  They were good, but next time I’ll use less feta (if I use any at all) and add cinnamon and apples.  I have a feeling those will be delicious!!

.

.

The finished product:

They were REALLY yummy!  I knew that it was good when Michael took a bite and said, “OH MY GOSH.”  And they were a ton of fun to make!  This sounds silly, but I felt professional when I made them.  I’ll definitely be making them again!

.

Thanks, Ree, for making the Tasty Kitchen site!

.

.

–Staci

.

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

8 responses to “A Chinese Kick

  • Sunni

    You are posting up a storm today, missy! Wow! Those sound fantastic. I will have to try them soon.

  • Denise C.

    OK, I give up…I’m checking out this website you and my sister keep talking about! lol Seriously, though, that recipe looks so good! When we get Chinese take-out, my daughter gets the fried crab wontons and they look really similar. Mmmm…

    • mselizondo

      You won’t regret it! It’s really great. And the regular PW cooking section has tons of great recipes with step by step photos and instructions. I love both of them! I was surprised at how well they turned out. It says “easy” on the difficulty level, and I didn’t believe it at all, but it really was!

  • Raeanne

    Nutella (a chocolate hazelnut spread in the peanut butter section) is to ‘die for’ as dessert won tons! Also, they have cinnamon chips (by the chocolate chips) that would be good too. I use the cinnamon chips inside of Crescent Roll dough for a quick dessert too. Yum!

    I use the canned crab on the tuna aisle. For future reference, they do have the wrappers at Apple Market & Wal-Mart.

    It’s great to see you attempting really cool dishes like this! I LOVE to cook and cook & bake all the time. It’s a stress reliever for me. Happy cooking!

    • mselizondo

      I love Nutella, but I’ve never thought to try it with won tons! I’ll for SURE have to try it out. And why haven’t I heard about cinnamon chips before?!

      I used that crab too. I didn’t even know they made canned crab meat until I was looking for it for this. Really?! Is it in the frozen section or the regular aisles? We looked by the Chinese stuff, but didn’t check the frozen section. That’s good to know!

      Thanks! I love trying new things. Happy cooking to you too!

  • Rachel(Ninja)

    Love that you post the pics! Haha, I need that step-by-step instruction. When I pick up cookbooks, I look to see if there’s a pic of each recipe. If not, I put it back down!

Leave a Reply

