Dorky Brother, Gorgeous Sister

Two weekends ago, Michael and I took our youth to the Oklahoma Youth Evangelism Conference (YEC) in Norman, OK.  We had a great time, and it was awesome to be there with our youth…but one of my favorite parts of the weekend was seeing my brother and sister!  My brother is a youth intern at a church in Moore, and my sister is in that youth group.

.

While I was waiting with some of “our kids” for the doors to open, I saw my brother with some of the other youth workers at his church.  The first thing I said:  “YOU’RE SUCH A DORK!”

The first thing he did:  started yelling “THIS IS MY SISTER!” at the top of his lungs while he hugged me/jumped up and down at the same time.

After I told him he’d better stop before he ripped one of my earrings out, we took this attractive picture:

I admit, I look pretty dorky too, but how could I be normal if I knew he was going to pose like that?!

I asked him where in the world he’d found glasses like that, and he told me that he was up on the roof of the church (I still don’t really know why…) and when they came down, they went to a janitor’s closet (don’t know why they did that either…) and he found a whole bunch of safety goggles.  So he decided to wear them.

And you know what the crazy thing is?  HE CAN PULL IT OFF!  If anyone else acted like he did, people would think they were crazy.  But everyone LOVES him, and somehow he makes dorkiness the coolest thing ever.

In all honesty, though, I absolutely love my brother, and I don’t know what I’d do without him.  We’ve been GREAT friends our whole life, and we just have a ton of fun together.  There is never a dull moment when he’s around.  And I’m so proud of the man he’s become.  I can’t believe that he’ll be 21 in a few months!  He’s going back to school for his Airplane Mechanic degree/license in a few months, and he should graduate in 18 months.  He knows that he wants to do some kind of ministry, but he doesn’t know if it’ll be overseas or in the U.S.

.

.

My sister and I had been texting while we were both waiting for the doors to open (her group was at another entrance), and once we got our seats, I told her where we were sitting.  She couldn’t find us if her life depended on it, so I went over and tried to find her.

After a HUGE hug and all of her friends telling me hi (do any other older siblings feel like a celebrity when they get around their brother/sister’s friends?), we took this pic:

I can’t believe how gorgeous and grown up she’s gotten!  Even though she’s 13 now, I still feel like she should be 6.  She probably thinks I’m a crazy person because every time we see each other I catch myself staring at her.  I just can’t get over the fact that she’s growing up so fast!

And what makes things better is that she is an amazing young lady!  She’s on the leadership team at her church, and she has the sweetest personality.  She was also accepted to be in Yearbook and some other kind of leadership team at school.  She wants to get her RN and Nurse Practitioner (I think that’s what it’s called) Degree so that she can be a medical missionary overseas.  I’m so proud of her!

.

.

I’m so thankful that God has blessed me with such incredible siblings (and parents!), and that our family is so close.  Even though we didn’t get to spend a ton of time together, it was SOO good to see my brother and sister here and there throughout the weekend!

.

.

Oh–and here’s a picture of my husband being a dork right along with my brother.  It’s crazy how much they can be alike at times!

.

.

–Staci

.

Q for you: Are you close to your siblings?  Are you the oldest (bossy child), middle (crazy child), or youngest (baby child)–or is your personality out of the ordinary for your birth order?

.

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

6 responses to “Dorky Brother, Gorgeous Sister

  • Denise C.

    I loved hearing about your siblings–you all look so much alike! I am the oldest, my sister is 2 years younger. We definitely fit into the birth-order thing! It’s funny how accurate that stuff is. My kids fit into it, too!

    • mselizondo

      Aw, thanks. I like writing about them. Yeah, we’re definitely siblings! And what’s funny is that you can take any of our cousins on my dad’s side (the Brazilian side) and we could ALL pass for siblings.

      Isn’t birth order stuff so crazy? That’s funny that you all fit it too!

  • Lisa Souza

    I love my family! I’m so proud of their big sister!!!

  • Rachel(Ninja)

    I wish I had good relationships with my siblings, but I don’t. One brother Jonathan is 2 yrs older than I am (turned 28 in May) and my other brother Matthew is 14 years younger (will be 12 in October).

    Jonathan and I used to play together when we were younger. Haha, I already told you about Monopoly, but it was more than that. We’d pack up our little backpacks with my fake food and other things we’d need for survival and then camp out in the basement under the computer table. Or we’d make a fort with my kitchen set by throwing blankets over it (haha, somehow it always ended up being MY blankets …). We’d set up obstacle courses outside in the backyard and compete. I had a really fun childhood until he started really getting into video games. Then he’d go next door to my cousin’s house to play Super Nintendo. I’d go over too (cousin’s sliding door was always open, so we’d just pop in and out), but I’d go to the bookshelf and read all of his books.

    As we got older, I think Jon started resenting me because I did well in school. Since it was just 2 years difference, we’d have the same classes and teachers, and I’d do better than he did. He was smart too, but he could’ve done much better if he worked at it more. That wasn’t as important to him because he did more extra-curriculars or he’d be next door with my cousin again! Haha. I think my parents used to want him to be more like me, so that didn’t help our relationship. PLUS, I’m really weird and can dance in the aisles of Walgreens whereas he’s super serious with the family and used to punch me on the arm for being weird!

    Matt and I don’t seem to have a good relationship unless we’re on vacation or something! That’s why I LOVE WDW. We seem to get along so well in Florida. It’s difficult during other times of the year especially now because he’s the age of the students I teach (and a student, as you know). I don’t like carelessness or attitude. He has both. Because of the age difference, he kind of grew up with me as a 2nd mom. I yelled at him often and sometimes want to discipline him as a parent even though I’m not. The boundary between sister/guardian is kind of blurred. My mom had to tell me that I need to remember that I’m just a sister and that I shouldn’t have to think about the discipline. I just don’t like that he’s not being raised the same way Jon and I were with the same expectations. My mom says it’s because he’s the 3rd child and all parents get lax.

    I always wonder what it’d be like if I were the oldest in the family or if I had sisters. I do get middle child syndrome often despite being the baby of the family for 14 years. I think it might be due to the Chinese traditions. Sons are favored, so being a girl AND the middle child makes me feel like Jan Brady quite often! Haha, probably why I act so weird and wacky at times!

    ANDDD I just wrote a really long comment. Haha.

    • mselizondo

      First off, I liked your long comment. I really like getting glimpses of peoples’ lives.

      I’m sorry you’re not close with your siblings. Especially since you and Jon used to be so close. Some of the things you talked about doing with him reminded me of playing with my brother when we were little too. Table and blanket tents were the best! Hopefully one of these days you’ll be able to be close again.

      14 years is a big difference! I thought 10 was…but there’s an even bigger gap with you and Matt. I’m sure it’s tough being his teacher and sister at the same time. I know what you mean about wanting to discipline him. I used to be that way with my sister–it was easy to forget that she was just acting like I acted 10 years earlier. But now she’s older and we have a really good relationship– even though it’s different from my relationship with my brother. I’m sure as Matt gets older your relationship will change. Oh–and parents do get more lax! My sister can do things that we couldn’t even dream of. But it’s got to be hard to be the youngest too because you can never be as old and do as many things as the older ones.

      I’m sorry you feel like Jan! Does Howard have sisters? Because then you’ll be getting some sisters in law soon! And one good thing is that now you’ll know how you want to raise your kids so that none of them feel looked over! 🙂

Leave a Reply

