Woo-Hoo! Harry’s Here!

For the past two weeks, I’ve been called “Calvin” more times that I can count.  On the 4th, Michael used a Calvin and Hobbes comic to go along with his message for the youth.  I’ve looked all over the internet, but I can’t find it.

Basically, Calvin sees that you can get a beanie if you mail in 6 proofs of purchase.  After he mails them in, all he can think about is getting his beanie in the mail.  EVERY day he comes in and asks if his beanie came yet.  He talks to Hobbes about his beanie while they’re trying to go to sleep, and it’s all he thinks about at school.  Finally, after weeks and weeks of waiting, he comes home from school and says, “I bet my beanie didn’t come in.”  But that was the day it arrived!  After he nearly failed trying to assemble it, he realized that it didn’t make him fly and was therefore worthless–but at least it came in a great cardboard box!

.

ANYWAY, so what does that have to do with me?  I ordered some books from Amazon on the 3rd and they shipped on the 5th–WITH NO TRACKING INFORMATION (how am I supposed to check the status multiple times a day?!)!  Every single day since then, one of the first things I say when I get home from work is “Did my books come in today?”  And every single day I’ve gotten a “no”.

Today I’d decided that the mail was probably coming via BICYCLE from San Fransisco.  That’s the only way I could justify it taking over two weeks to come in.

BUT…when I went to check the mail after my lunch break, IT WAS THERE!

.

You’re probably wondering what book could get me this worked up…  But I’m gonna have to be honest:  ANY book that I order will get me this worked up.  I’m a nerd.  And I think it also has to do with getting a package in the mail.  Who doesn’t like that?  Plus, I’d like to act like I’m a super patient person, but anyone that knows me will tell you that I’m not.  At all.  I try to be, but I’m not.

.

So what were the books?

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

.

And now for the back-story:

At one point, I owned the first four books.  Then I decided that I’d jump on the bandwagon and get rid of them.  I watched the first three movies when I went on a movie binge before the Forge (I knew I wouldn’t be able to watch TV or movies for the 9 months I was there so I watched a TON during the weeks leading up to the program), and I really liked them.  But by the time I completed the Forge, I’d forgotten that I wanted to watch the other ones that were out.  Michael and I decided to rent the first one last month, and within a few weeks we’d gotten all caught up.  We both REALLY liked them, but it made me want to read the books again.  Books just add so much more detail and they’re usually better (A Walk to Remember is my only exception so far).  So I decided to buy the books and read them again.  Oh–and by the way, I got each of them for $4 a piece–including shipping!

Needless to say, I’m really excited that they’re finally here, and I can’t wait to start reading them again!  I might even talk Michael into reading them.  But I’m not holding my breath on that one.

.

.

–Staci

.

Q for you:  Have you read the HP books or seen the movies?  What are your thoughts on them?  What was the last thing you couldn’t wait to get in the mail?

.

.

And I feel like I should have a disclaimer:  While we really enjoyed the movies and I’m excited to read the books, I don’t plan on encouraging kids to read/watch them.  Some of it does get to be too much for kids (especially #4).  That being said, I don’t feel like they’re any darker than some of Dekker’s books (esp books like “Boneman’s Daughters”), and the movies weren’t as creepy as “The Lord of the Rings” movies.  But that’s SOLELY my opinion.  If your kids have read them and you’re ok with it, great!  If you choose to not read/watch them, great.  These are just my thoughts.  🙂

.


About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

2 responses to “Woo-Hoo! Harry’s Here!

  • Rachel(Ninja)

    I’m feeling impatient right now! I have a ongoing search to see if I can our timeshare in Florida for the week we have off in February! Every time the phone rings, I’m thinking it’s going to be RCI! Of course, we just put the search in yesterday and it could technically take MONTHS, so I know I could be jumping the gun! I wish I had a tracking number on this!

    I watched the first 2 or possibly 3 HP movies because my cousin Danielle loves them. She always introduced me to LOTR. We still have to finish all of them, and I know I want to eventually read the books.

    I agree with you about the kids watching it though. I think it’s just crossing a fine line with these movies. I don’t think I’d stop my kids if they were interested, but I’d definitely watch with them and make sure we talked about it. I personally don’t think there’s anything wrong with watching it because it’s like a fairytale whereas my mom can’t see past the wizardry and spells. I just know that with the occult stuff and the spells and stuff, it’s approaching dangerous territory.

    The books are banned from my Christian school. Kids are not allowed to read them for projects although I know some of them have on their own free time (that’s up to their parents). Instead of banning HP, I would’ve liked them to ban Twilight instead. I heard that there were inappropriate parts in those books too (outside of the vampire stuff).

    • mselizondo

      We should have tracking numbers on EVERYTHING!! hehe–that might be going a bit overboard…

      The books are really good. I loved them way back when, and I’m in the middle of book 3 now, and I’m probably enjoying them even more now. You should get one from the public library since the library at your school doesn’t have them.

      It’s definitely arguable from either side — and I’ve been on both sides of the coin. But I do think that little kids shouldn’t watch them because parts get pretty scary.

      Michael and I both read the first Twilight book because almost all of our youth are super into the series. We could barely finish it. I had to bribe myself with a prize at the end just so I wouldn’t quit reading it. The writing is very weak and I felt like I was reading a teenage, lovesick, swooner’s diary. I couldn’t talk myself into reading the others…

Leave a Reply

