Sea of Emotions

Do you ever have those days where you are full of so many different emotions that you feel like you’ll drown in the sea of them?

That’s where I am today.

I feel like I can’t even begin to summarize what all has happened in the past few days, weeks, and months.  Let’s just say it’s been a doozie.

I am so, so thankful that God has given me an amazing husband to go through all of this with.  And I’m even more thankful that I know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that God has a plan and He is ALWAYS faithful.  Even when my emotions are changing quicker than I can blink, He always remains the same.

Joy, excitement, anxiety, frustration, hope, thankfulness, confusion, clarity, uncertainty, hurt, anticipation, happiness, contentment, patience, impatience, relief, shock, peace, overwhelming-ness, sadness, doubt, certainty, amazement, worry, love and surrender have just been a few of the emotions I’ve felt recently.  And some of them I can’t even find a name for.

But the most amazing thing in all of this is God’s goodness.  It’s the HOPE that He’s given us that makes all of these emotions and the circumstances that cause them more than worth it.  We’re so excited to see His plan unfold.

.

Earlier this summer we challenged our youth kids to really grow deeper in their faith.  One of the things we challenged them to do is memorize James 1.  I’d memorized this in college, and God has brought it to my mind SO many times over the years.  Verses 2-5 have been especially meaningful to me.

Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.  Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.  If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.

James 1:2-5

He keeps reminding me of other Truths as well.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

Romans 8:28

 

Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.

Proverbs 19:21

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.

Proverbs 3:5-6

.

So that’s a little bit of where I am.  Even though it’s been crazy, we wouldn’t trade this time for anything because it’s brought us closer to God and closer to each other.  Thanks for letting me try to articulate some of what I’m feeling on here.

.

.

–Staci

.

PS. Please don’t mention anything that’s been going on if you know about it.  Thanks!

.

 

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

2 responses to “Sea of Emotions

  • Rachel(Ninja)

    Any time I feel overwhelmed, I often think about how you are still rely on God’s strength to get through things. You’re such an encouragement, Staci!

    • mselizondo

      Aw, thanks, Rachel. That means a lot. I definitely still find it SO hard sometimes. And I used to always try to take things into my own hands. I’ve learned the hard way that it doesn’t work like that.

Leave a Reply

