A Hilarious Gift

Last night, we went to my parents’ house to celebrate my dad’s birthday.  My mom made Brazilian meat and it was INCREDIBLE, as usual.

After we watched some home video clips (post on that coming shortly), it was time for my dad to open his presents.

My sister gave him a sweet card that had a cute poem in it.  My mom’s card was also really cute.  To summarize, it said that she didn’t fall in love with him–she jumped in with both feet.  My dad thought “Despicable Me” was hilarious, so Michael and I gave him a gift card that could only be used to buy that movie when it came out.  I also made his favorite snack:  Sweet Chex Mix!

This whole time, my brother was in the office.  We all assumed that he’d forgotten and he was scrambling to make a quick card.  When he finally came back to the living room, it looked like he’d done just that.  He made Emily get up so that he could sit next to my dad, and then he handed him a stack of notebook paper.

On the top was a picture he’d drawn of my dad and him (stick figures with shorts on).  He’d drawn both of their facial hair, my dad’s glasses, some flowers, a sun, and a moon.  There was an arrow pointing to my dad’s glasses that said “You’re not a robber.  These are just your hip new glasses.”  And another arrow, pointing to the flowers, said something like “Yes, these are flowers but we’re not sissy.  We like to do manly things like burp and toot and watch Braveheart.”  We were all just shaking our heads.  My brother is ridiculous.

Behind the picture was a four page letter.  My dad hates reading long letters, so my mom said she’d read it out loud for everyone.  She got a couple of sentences in and couldn’t finish because she was laughing so hard.  So my brother decided to read it to us.

I wish I had a copy of it.  It was the most hilarious letter I’ve ever heard.  (Oh–and by the way, if you’re wondering what his name tag says, it says “Mr. Awesome”.  He made it for himself.)  He went on and on about how 45 is an awesome number, and every time someone counts “1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7…” they say his birthday.

THEN he started describing the picture.  Oh. My. Goodness.  We were all laughing SOOO hard!  I would definitely do it an injustice if I tried to say what he wrote.  Let’s just say we could hardly breathe we were laughing so hard.

My sister was literally rolling on the floor laughing.

I was laying on the couch (since my back still hates me) and Michael was sitting on the other end.  We were both laughing so hard that our stomachs hurt, and I kept on clapping–I only do this when I’m dying laughing.

He had a few serious paragraphs talking about how much my dad means to him, and then he went back to comedy.  Towards the end of the letter he compared my dad and himself to ducks.

I don’t know how in the world he does it, but my brother is HILARIOUS.

.

Needless to say, we had a wonderful time with my family.  I love them SOOOOO much!  We always have a great time together.

.

.

–Staci

.

Q for you: when is the last time you laughed so hard you could hardly breathe?

.

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

4 responses to “A Hilarious Gift

  • Lisa Souza

    It was a classic family moment. I need to make copies of that letter for you. I love you!!!!

  • Rachel(Ninja)

    What a great gift! And what a great family that you can share such a silly and serious moments together.

    I think the last time I laughed really hard was when Howard and I were waiting to pick up our food for dinner. We were talking about the icebreaker question that was asking during Sunday School, “What’s your favorite snack?” During class, Howard had said almonds and a cheese stick. Later that night, Howard said that he should’ve said peaches because he really likes peaches lately. I then asked, “Do you eat them raw?” We both started cracking up so hard because of the question I asked! That’s not what I meant, haha. I meant to ask if he eats it with the skin (my mom hates fuzzy peach skin, but my dad and I like the skin on fruit)! I laughed so hard that I started hiccuping!

Leave a Reply

