“Go With God”

Levi Smith is one of our very favorite artists.  His lyrics are so clever, and his music is great.  One of our best friends from college introduced me to his music because her sister was friends with him, and Michael saw him in concert at DBU our freshman year.  Every since then, we’ve both been huge fans!

Most of his songs don’t have anything to do with God or faith.  In fact, my favorite is called “Bitterness is Sexy”, and it’s about being dumped.  The lyrics are hilarious — I’ll have to post them sometime.  Anyway…even though most of them are about other things, he has a few really great songs about his faith.

One of his songs really goes well with what we’ve been going through over the past few months.  I thought I’d share the lyrics with you.

.

.

.

Go With God by Levi Smith

.

Seemed like a chill swept the room
As you slowly broke the news
And shock spread across each face
Disbelief is soon replaced with blank stares
Into nowhere
And though I knew this day would come
I’m not ready to be left undone
And some say that nothing good can last
How quickly time has passed
It hurts, you know
To see you go

.

But don’t look to the right or to the left
Set your gaze to what lies ahead
There are trails to blaze and memories to make
And so whatever it takes

.

Go with God
If you can’t stay
I’d be a fool to stand in your way
And go with God
And follow ’til
‘Til you find yourself in the middle of His will

.

No one could take the place you have among us
Or fill the void left in your wake
And all that you’ve done here will not be soon forgotten
But you can’t be contained in the pictures we take

.

So don’t you look to the right or to the left
Set your gaze to what lies ahead
There are trails to blaze and memories to make
And so whatever it takes

.

Go with God
If you can’t stay
I’d be a fool to stand in your way
And go with God
And follow ’til
‘Til you find yourself in the middle of His will

.

Roll on
Roll on
Roll on my friend
Roll on
Roll on
Roll on

.

It hurts, you know
To see you go
Go with God
Go with God

.

Who knows what tomorrow holds?
Who knows what tomorrow holds?
Who knows what tomorrow holds?
But I know who holds tomorrow

.

And though I knew this day would come…

.

.

.

–Staci

.

PS.  Sorry for all of the . s … the paragraph space isn’t big enough.  : )

.

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

3 responses to ““Go With God”

  • Suzanne

    Stac, thanks for sharing this! I will have to get this on itunes b/c you know these words hits a cord for the reality in me too these days! Love you friend and please know that I am praying for you and Michael as y’all are transitioning.

    • mselizondo

      You’re welcome! It’s been on my mind a lot. You should definitely get it on iTunes — he’s a great artist. I love you too! Thank you so, so much for praying for us. I’m praying for you too. I’ve loved being able to read about God’s faithfulness and how He’s preparing you for your transition too.

  • “Go With God” …again | Our Family E

    […] I was searching for the post about the last time we moved, entitled 440 miles, I saw this post.  It is fitting for our situation once […]

Leave a Reply

