“Bitterness is Sexy”

I have to share these lyrics.  I woke up at 5:45 this morning with this song in my head, and couldn’t go back to sleep.  Yesterday I said I’d post them sometime since they’re my favorite Levi Smith lyrics…and maybe if I post them today they’ll get out of my head.  : )

Oh — and if you get a chance, try to listen to it on iTunes or MySpace or something.  It’s upbeat and catchy.  You’d never know it was about being dumped if you weren’t listening to the words.

.

.

.

Bitterness is Sexy by Levi Smith

.

“We can still be friends”
That’s the consolation prize you gave me
In hushed tones over gourmet coffee
And I mean no offense
But you were quite a waste of time and money
Not to mention dignity
So don’t get me wrong
I want you to be happy
As long as it’s with me
.
One day you’re gonna’ want me
But it’ll prob’ly be too late by then
One day you’re gonna’ want me
At least that’s what I say to all my friends
.
Alright, so here’s the plan:
You go ahead and keep your options open
While I stay here and lose all hope in love
And don’t you understand?
I am lonely, but I need another friend like you need another compliment
Don’t get me wrong
I want you to be happy
As long as it’s with me
.
One day you’re gonna’ want me
But it’ll prob’ly be too late by then
One day you’re gonna’ want me
At least that’s what I say to all my friends
.
So thank you for leading me on
It’s nice to feel attractive
Don’t you agree?
So I hope someone hears this song
That thinks bitterness is sexy
.
One day you’re gonna’ want me
But it’ll prob’ly be too late by then
One day you’re gonna’ want me
At least that’s what I say to all my friends
One day you’re gonna want me
But it’ll prob’ly be too late by then
One day you’re gonna’ want me
At least that’s what I say to all my friends

.

.

.

Aren’t they great?  So clever.

The last two times the chorus is sung, all of these guys join in, and I picture them all waving their mugs in the air with the music (think the bar scene with Gaston in Beauty and the Beast).  Yeah, my mind makes up weird things.

.

.

–Staci

.

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

Leave a Reply

