Tears, Dreams, and This Time Last Year

Tears

.

Well…last night it finally hit me.  We’re moving VERY FAR AWAY.

As in EIGHT HOURS from my family.

If you know me, you know how tough this is going to be for me.  My family is SUPER close.  Apart from Michael, they’re who I’d want to spend time with out of anyone in the world.  I’m not saying this to brag or anything, but we’re easily the closest family I’ve ever known.  And it’s going to be really hard to move so far away.

I’ve lived away from my family before (Dallas — 2.5 hrs, and Tyler — 5 hrs), and they live about 1.25 hrs away from us now, but it’s always been a “doable distance”.  8 hrs is a long, long way.

Last night, Michael and I were watching Mrs. Doubtfire and I think the end is what really got me.  You know:  the part where “she” talks about families and how some don’t get to see each other for weeks or months or even years, but if they have love, that’s what being a family is all about.  Well, the credits started rolling, and I started bawling.

We’re not talking a few tears here — it was the whole sobbing to the point where I could hardly breathe thing.  I’m so thankful for my sweet husband, though.  He just held me and let me cry.  And he didn’t even get upset when he saw that his entire sleeve was black from my mascara.  I don’t know what I’d do without him.

I finally regained composure, and I was even able to talk on the phone with my mom later on.  I’m so thankful for technology because it’s going to make all of this a lot easier.  I can’t imagine what it would be like back in the old days…

.

.

.

Dreams

.

Last night, I had another dream about Disney World (I’ve been having them a lot lately).  It’s not a secret that I absolutely love Disney, and I’m dead serious that I want to work at WDW when we retire.

Well, my dream was pretty weird.  At one point we were all on this boat, and we were trying to not get rained on, so we hid behind a house.  Then at some point, I was playing this game or watching a movie or something that let me fly over Walt Disney World.  I would zoom down on different parts of the parks to see the attractions up close.  While I was flying, some of my favorite Disney movie songs were playing.

Then we were going to Universal Studios with my family (I’ve never been there, btw).  It was around 4:00 and my mom was asking if we wanted to go into one of the parks and use our ride tickets.  I kept trying to explain to her that we’d be wasting a whole day’s pass.  Then I told everyone to be sure to bring their swimming suits because there were tons of water rides since it was on the ocean.  Before I woke up, I started doing the whole flying over Disney thing, and some songs from Beauty and the Beast were playing.

So needless to say, it made me want to go back to Disney World REALLY badly!

.

.

.

Which brings me to my third topic:  This time last year.

.

On September 20 last year, Michael and I were flying to Florida for an incredible week at Walt Disney World!  It really was the trip of a lifetime — we had SO much fun together.  Since I’m missing Disney a lot, I thought I’d go back and look at all of our pictures.  Here’s a little re-cap of our trip:

.

Day 0:  Travel to Dallas

We drove to my Aunt L’s house in Dallas since we were leaving really, really early the next morning.  We had a great time hanging out with Aunt L and my cousin’s little girl, A.

.

Day 1:  Arrival at Animal Kingdom Lodge, Downtown Disney

We had a really early flight to Orlando.  We were beyond excited to get to WDW (I’d been planning for 11 months…), and Animal Kingdom Lodge was absolutely INCREDIBLE!  We hung out at the resort for a while, and then went to Downtown Disney to spend the rest of the evening.

.

Day 2:  Epcot and Magic Kingdom Nighttime

For our first full day in the parks, we went to Epcot.  We were there until mid-afternoon when we took a break and went to explore the Grand Floridian Resort.  We  went back to Epcot for our dinner reservations at Coral Reef, and then finished up some more attractions.  We loved all of the hands-on, interactive stuff.  Michael was even chosen as a contestant for a Velcro game show!  That night, we went over to the Magic Kingdom for SpectroMagic and Wishes.  It was a GREAT first full day!

.

Day 3:  Disney’s Hollywood Studios (formerly MGM Studios)

We were both really excited about this day (well, we were excited about every day…but extra-excited about this day) because we were going to our favorite park:  Hollywood Studios!  We arrived in time for “rope drop” and stayed until the park closed.  We saw great shows and enjoyed all of the attractions.  Michael was even picked to be an “extra” in Indiana Jones.  We had dinner at the Sci-Fi Drive-In, and it was just a fantastic day.

.

Day 4:  Magic Kingdom

We made it to the Magic Kingdom well before the rope drop show (which was great).  We stayed until early afternoon and then took a break to rent Sea Raycers and enjoy our resort and the pool.  We had dinner at Kona Cafe in the Polynesian Resort, and then went back to the Magic Kingdom for some more fun.

.

Day 5:  Tour, Magic Kingdom, and Epcot

Michael and I went on the Keys to the Kingdom Tour at the Magic Kingdom and loved every minute of it!  We highly recommend it to anyone.  It was so great to see behind the scenes and learn so many interesting facts about Walt Disney and about the Magic Kingdom.  Afterwards, we did a little more at the MK, and then went to Epcot for dinner at Teppan Edu.  We tried on hats in all of the countries and then watched Illuminations.

.

Day 6:  Animal Kingdom and Hollywood Studios

We went to Animal Kingdom and had a great time watching the shows and riding the different rides.  We went back for a break in the late afternoon, ate dinner at Boma (in our resort), and then went to Hollywood Studios for the evening.  We watched Fantasmic, and then went to the Boardwalk.

.

Day 7:  Disney’s Hollywood Studios and flying Home

We went back to Hollywood Studios for our last day since it’s both of our favorites.  We saw each of our favorite shows again, and enjoyed all of the things we missed on our other days and/or wanted to do again.  Late afternoon, we went back to our resort to catch the bus to the airport.  We arrived home safe and sound, with TONS of amazing memories of our trip.

.

Sigh.  We miss Disney.  We were talking about it yesterday, and I think we’re going to try to go to Disneyland in California in two summers!!  We’d love to go back to WDW again, but we want to see new places, and I’ve never been to Cali.  I REALLY hope it works out!  I absolutely love vacations of any kind, but there’s just something special about a Disney Vacation.

.

.

.

So that’s a little about where my mind has been over the past 18 hours or so:  Tears, Dreams, and This Time Last Year.

.

.

–Staci

.

 

 

 

 

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

10 responses to “Tears, Dreams, and This Time Last Year

  • Elizabeth McGaha

    Staci,

    I just wanted to let you know I know exactly how you feel. We are 8 hours from my family too and I might fight you for the closest family title. I often cry because I am missing so many family events like my little brother’s homecoming football game this weekend. I have never missed one. The great thing is, somehow God always meets your needs. Like for the first time ever all my little brother’s games will be available to view online so I can still see him play football and give him the encouragement and praise he deserves. Facebook also helps so that I can share photos and our memories here.

    Anyway, don’t forget Paul and I are closer now and if you ever feel lonely we can meet in the middle and share our sorrows or talk about Disney.

    Praying for a safe move for you both,

    Elizabeth McGaha

    • mselizondo

      Hi Elizabeth! Thank you so much. It helped to read this. I’m so thankful for technology. It’s going to make things a lot easier.

      And Michael and I are so excited to be close to you and Paul! We might just have to do some of the smaller holidays together. I’ve told everyone how great it will be to be so close to you both. : )

      Thank you! Hopefully we’ll be able to meet up with you soon.

  • Sunni

    I’m going to work at Disney when I retire, too! I hoping to shrink down small enough to be Minnie. 🙂

  • Jenny105

    I loved looking over the pictures of your trip again. Can you believe it was a year ago?? I’m lucky I get to go there again in two weeks. I promise to take lots of pictures so you can live vicariously through me 🙂 I’d love to go to Disneyland one day. The package costs arent bad but once you add the airfare…yikes! It kills it!

    • mselizondo

      Thanks! I KNOW–it’s so crazy that a whole year has passed! You’re going to have such a great trip. I can’t wait to read all about it! Well, we’re about half-way in-between DL and WDW, so it’s really not bad at all for us. It’d be a much cheaper vacay, actually.

  • Ann

    Aww, I know how it feels to also live 8 hours away from family. We drive back home a few times a year, but it certainly helps to be able to chat on the phone every day and even Skype. Loved reliving your Disney trip.

  • Missillusional

    Ah, now you make me want to go again. It’s only been 6 months since we saw our main mouse. We start haveing withdrawls about this time. Oh, also pretty cute little girl in the pics. 🙂 She loves WDW!!!

Leave a Reply

