Fall Break Camping

This past weekend, we went camping with my parents and sister.  We drove to Purtis Creek (near Athens, TX) since it was about half-way between us.  Since Michael and I get Fridays off (for the most part) and it was my parents’ Fall Break, it worked out perfectly!

We were supposed to leave around 4:00, but it ended up being closer to 5:00.  When we pulled in to the site around 9:00, we were greeted with the site of my dad and sister trying to figure out how to put together a tent.  It was great.

My mom used to tent camp all the time when she was little, but my dad has only camped in a tent once.  They’ve had an RV since I was in Junior High, and tent camping hasn’t even crossed their minds since then — that is, until last weekend.  Since their RV needed some work done, they had to borrow my brother’s tent for the weekend.

It was hilarious watching them try to put it up!  Thankfully Michael saved the day and helped them figure it out.  My mom was a great supervisor.

I don’t want to brag, but we had both of our tents put up in less time than it took them to figure out their one.  (Actually, I do want to brag…hehe.)  And theirs (the middle one) looked pretty hilarious even after it was put together.  We were all laughing so hard.

Even though Em swore she wouldn’t sleep by herself — the bears might come and get her! — she ended up sleeping in the smaller tent next to my parents.  And she was the only one that could fall asleep for a long time.  Around 1:40 Michael got up to get us a blanket from the car and we both fell asleep a little after that…

…Only to be awakened by RAIN coming through the mesh roof at 3:00!  I’ve never seen 4 adults shoot out of bed (and their tents) and scramble around so quickly in my life.  I’m pretty sure it was record-breaking rain shield putting on-ing.  Thankfully it didn’t get too wet.  I thought it was hilarious — it only added to the adventure.  And to the fact that my dad was camping in a tent.

.

I woke up rested and ready to start the day.  When we came back from the bath houses, my fam was heading towards them.  We decided to fix the tent rain shields since we’d just thrown them on in the middle of the night.  We fixed ours first, and we just HAD TO snap a picture of it and my parents’ when we finished.

Isn’t that sad?!  We were pretty proud of ours.

I was playing around with the macro setting on my camera and decided to capture the left-over rain drops:

When my family came back, it was time for breakfast.  Michael and Emily fought over who got to flip the pancakes.  They both think they’re the world’s greatest pancake makers.

After breakfast we decided to go on a walk and explore the area.  I took lots of “nature pictures” but I’ll save those for another post.

We saw a huge beaver dam…

…some beaver-chewed wood…

…and what remained of the beaver.  Yuck.

There were shells everywhere!

And there were trees sticking out all over the water.

We took a “girl pic”…

…And then my parents took a pic…

…But Michael was too busy trying to pry open a shell and then throw it into the water.

Emily used the branch as a limbo bar (I was too slow with my camera…my dad did it first),

Michael was a macho man,

And then they played around on a shaky dock thing.

We had a great walk!

I snapped a picture of our campsite, and then it was time to go into town.

We were all hungry already, so we got lunch at a place called Rounders Pizza.  It was really good!  I should have taken a picture of our pizza, but I was too hungry.  I snapped a few shots before the food came, though.  It was decorated really cute inside.

When we finished our pizza, we went to Wal-Mart to buy a few more things.  My parents ended up buying this covered table tent thing.  It turned out to be SUCH a good purchase.

We ate Hobo Dinners for dinner.  YUM!!  (For those of you who don’t know, Hobo Dinners are hamburger patties, carrots, potatoes and onions in a foil packet, cooked on the coals.  And then we put cheese on top of them when they’re finished.  They’re amazing!)  Michael and my dad took care of the fire and “supervised”.

After dinner, it was time for S’mores!  My mom brought pant hangers which, needless to say, didn’t work very well.  So we threw away the metal and watched the pant part burn.

The S’mores were delicious!

Can you tell I was excited?!

I tried to take a picture of all of this smoke coming out of the logs.  It looked so neat!

I decided to have one more, minus the graham cracker.  It was messy, but soooo yummy.

We played a game of “Chicken Foot” (dominoes) and then got ready for bed.  It’d been a fantastic, relaxing day.

.

The second night was uneventful.  We’d gone ahead and left the rain covering things on, but we ended up not needing them.  And I actually slept like a rock.  I woke up feeling so rested.

For breakfast, my mom and I had rice and bacon, my dad had oatmeal and bacon, Michael had pancakes and bacon, and Emily had pancakes, bacon, and rice.  I guess a little variety never hurt anyone.  Emily had fun throwing all of our trash in the fire.

We decided to fold up the net part of the table tent and put away our tents before it started raining some more (it’d been sprinkling off and on all morning).

And then we played a game of “Risk” — the new one.  Instead of it being “world domination” (we think it must have been politically incorrect or something), you now have to complete 3 objectives to win the game.  I actually like it a lot more than the original game.

We had a lot of fun!  Emily ended up losing big time (she was red) ad my dad ended up winning.  My mom probably could have won, but she let him complete another objective since it was getting close to time to go.

After our game was over, it was time to pack up and go home.  But not before a family picture!

They didn’t give me much to work with…

It’s scary how well Michael fits in.

The next one was better.

It’d been an INCREDIBLE weekend — just what we all needed.  It was so good to be with my family and get some rest.  I’m so thankful that we’re still close enough to meet in the middle every once in a while.

.

Since it’d rained on our tents, we had to set them up when we got home.  And since we don’t have a backyard to set them up in (and I don’t think we’d get away with setting them up on our back porch), we had to put them up in our house to dry out.  It was lovely.

The bigger one was in the living room, along with the table and camping chairs…

…the smaller one was in the office…

…and the rain covers and tarp were in the guest bathroom.

It was VERY nice when we finally got to put them away on Tuesday.

.

But even with us having to set up camp in our house afterwards, I wouldn’t change a thing about the weekend.  It was SO good!

.

.

–Staci

.

Q for you:  When was the last time you went camping?  Did you stay in an RV or tent camp?

.

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

12 responses to “Fall Break Camping

  • Missillusional

    I love this….I can only imagine how happy Alex was with sleeping in a tent….shouldn’t he be used to it? Have him remember his roots of the treehouse in the jungles of Brazil with no protection but a loin cloth.

    • mselizondo

      Your comment cracked me up! You would have loved it. He was a tad bit grumpy…but I think he ended up enjoying it. Hahahahahaha…my mom and I agree that you should be a writer by the way.

  • Jamie

    We stayed in a big circus size tent with our 70lb boxer baby. She had so much fun gaurding camp. Miss you doll! Your family is awesome and am so glad you are doing well.

  • Jenny105

    I’ve never been camping a day in my life!

    They made Risk politically correct? Are you kidding me?

  • Natalie Barker

    It looks like ya’ll had so much fun! If you can meet your parents ever so often like that, I think you’ll be ok! Everyone needs to get away from it all every now and then, and I know it was good for you all. To answer your question, I’ve never ‘tent’ camped, my grandparents have always had a travel trailer (we call it a camper). Nothing tastes as good as food cooked out like that!

    • mselizondo

      It was so great! You’re right. It makes it so much better that we can get together every once in a while. My grandparents had a camper the whole time I was growing up too–and then my parents bought one. I didn’t tent camp until I was a senior in HS. You should try it sometime! You’re so right. It’s yummy!

  • Elizabeth

    It looks like you guys had a great psuedo fall break as well. I haven’t been camping since my little brother told my mom he saw a ‘big’ kitty in the tree and we packed up camp in the dark.

  • Emily Souza

    Yes! It was reeeeeaaaaaallyyyyyyy fun!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 we need to do it again sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

