Apple Dumplings

This has been my new favorite dessert recipe since I found it a few months ago.  Growing up, one of the girls at my church used to bring this to different things that we had.  And everyone always went crazy over it!  Well, I found the recipe on (surprise, surprise) The Pioneer Woman, and decided to make it for Danna and Jonathan one night before we moved.  We all LOVED it!

Well, on Monday we had an appreciation lunch for all of the office volunteers.  All of the office staff brought different things, and I brought green beans (the kind that we’ve been addicted to for months!) and Apple Dumplings.  The Apple Dumplings were a HUGE hit!  I didn’t make up the recipe, so I feel like I can share this:  even older ladies wanted the recipe!  I was in shock.  I mean, grannies can cook…  So if they think it’s good, it’s good.

I’m glad I thought to take pictures, because now I can share the recipe with you.  Enjoy!

.

.

Apple Dumplings (by Ree Drummond aka The Pioneer Woman)

.

Ingredients

  • 2 whole Granny Smith Apples (I actually use Honey Crisp Apples now — they’re the greatest apples ever, in my opinion — and they work great!)
  • 2 cans (8 Oz. Cans) Crescent Rolls
  • 2 sticks Butter
  • 1-½ cup Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • Cinnamon, To Taste
  • 1 can (12 Oz.) Mountain Dew Soda

.

Directions

  • Peel and core apples. Cut each apple into 8 slices each. Roll each apple slice in a crescent roll.

  • Place in a 9 x 13 buttered pan.

  • Melt butter,

  • then add sugar and barely stir.

  • Add vanilla, stir,

  • and pour entire mixture over apples.

  • Pour Mountain Dew around the edges of the pan.

  • Sprinkle with cinnamon

  • and bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.

  • Serve with ice cream, and spoon some of the sweet sauces from the pan over the top.
  • WARNING: Prepare this dish at your own risk. It is beyond imaginable.

.

She’s right.  It’s definitely beyond imaginable!  YUM.  Try it this weekend.  It’s super easy, and SO delicious!

.

.

What is one of your favorite dessert recipes?

.

–Staci

.

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

9 responses to “Apple Dumplings

Leave a Reply

