Two Years Ago

Two years ago, I married my best friend.

And since then, it’s been the best two years of my life.  I couldn’t ask for a more wonderful, thoughtful, fun, godly, and loving husband.  I am truly blessed.

.

And now for a little wedding flashback!

.

I took my bridal portraits a few months before we got married since I knew it would be too cold for outside shots in December.  Here are a couple of my favorites.

.

Our wedding day was my favorite day ever.  My parents are wonderful, and they gave me my dream wedding.  I’d never thought that I would get married in December, but I’m so glad we did!  It was perfect.

 

We decided to see each other before the ceremony, and this was Michael’s face when I came through the door.

We loved having this time to take pictures and just relax before the wedding.

After we took pictures, we went to a little chapel–just the two of us–and had communion and prayed before the wedding.  It was one of my favorite parts of the whole day.

The church where we got married had somewhere around 100 poinsettias and we were able to move them wherever we wanted.  It was SO nice to be able to use them to decorate.  It was better than I could have imagined.

I’ve always been a Daddy’s girl, so it was really special for him to walk me down the aisle and give me to Michael.

My Uncle Alan officiated our wedding.  What made that even more special was that he also officiated my parents’ wedding.

We were surrounded by such wonderful family and friends.  I’m so thankful for their support.

Michael’s favorite part!

Mr. and Mrs. Michael Elizondo!  Can you tell we were excited?!

While everyone headed over to the reception hall, we finished taking pictures.  Our wonderful wedding party!  Each of these people mean so, so much to us.

All of the kids in our wedding!  It was really important to us to have our cousins and other special family friends in our wedding.  They all had a different job, from handing roses to our mothers and grandmothers, to lighting candles, to being a junior or regular flower girl or ring bearer.  I love that they were able to be a part of our special day!

For some reason, I don’t have a picture of our families online.  But I will say that we have the best families in the world.  We are so thankful for their love and support.

Our reception was so much fun!  We’re probably biased, but we both think that our reception was the most fun we’ve had.  We had an amazing DJ team, and everything went so smoothly.

Our first dance:

I bawled like a baby when I danced with my dad.  And still, to this day, when I hear “Cinderella” by Steven Curtis Chapman, I tear up.

I’m so happy that so many people danced!  They are what made it so much fun!

My brother and one of my little cousins:

We LOVE dancing, so it was a given that we had to have a dance at our wedding.

At one point, the DJ played a “Grease” medly and had us line up on either side of the room.  This is one of my favorite pictures from the night because you can see aunts, cousins (older and younger), and family friends all getting into it.

My little sister caught the bouquet:

And we had a wonderful time dancing with everyone (and paying for our honeymoon!!) during our “Dollar Dance”:

It really was the time of my life.  Thank you to everyone who was a part of our special day!

And most of all, thank you to my husband for being so wonderful.  It’s been a great two years, and I’m so excited for all of the years to come!

.

.

–Staci

.

 

 

All photos courtesy of Shari Manwell.  If you’re anywhere near Ada, OK, I highly recommend Manwell Photography.  She did an outstanding job!

.

 

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

6 responses to “Two Years Ago

Leave a Reply

