Worry

My cousin sent me the notes from her pastor’s sermon.  It is exactly what I needed.  I’ve really been worrying a lot lately.  I’m not a huge worrier by nature, but when I do worry, I worry big time.  And once I start worrying about something, it seems like everything else just snowballs and before I know it, I’m completely overwhelmed.

When I read these notes and looked up the verses this morning, I was reminded that God is indeed in control.  He knows my future, and He’s going to take care of me.  I really don’t need to worry–it’s going to be ok.

I thought that I’d pass these notes on to you.  I hope they encourage and remind you like they did me.

.

.

BREVITY – STOP WORRYING

DREW SHERMAN @ COMPASS CHRISTIAN CHURCH – COLLEYVILLE, TX

Theme verse of the year: 2 Timothy 1:7

Scripture: Matt 6:25-34; Psalm 118:24

STEPS TO STOP WORRYING FOR YOURSELF AND LET GOD TAKE CONTROL

.

1. GIVE – Give your worries to God

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7

*Stop thinking you can do this on your own.
*Stop being a control freak over your spiritual life.

.

2. INVITE – Invite God to take control over yourself

“Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.”  Psalm 23:4

“There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.”  1 John 4:18

“I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ,”  Ephesians 3:16-18

*Prayer “Holy Spirit will you release in me a spirit of power, love, and self control. Not a spirit of fear, timidity, and anxiety.”

.

3. FOLLOW – Follow God and He will take care of you

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”  Matthew 6:25-34

“Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. 
They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”  Lamentations 3:22-23

See also: Matthew Chp 11; The story of Job

.

THINK:

Have you ever gotten to the end of a long day and wanted so desperately to simply lie down and get a good nights rest? However, as you lay there you become anxious. Our thoughts are flooded with worries about tomorrow and things that have happened in your day. You finally drag yourself out of bed 6 hours later feeling more tired than when you laid down, and now you are worried about being tired and how you are going to function on top of all the other worries that kept you tossing and turning all night. It seems as if our world lives in a perpetual state of worry. In fact, it seems as if the church has become a place of greater worry than ever before. Yet we read those words in Timothy that we are not part of a timid movement, but a movement of power! The question we have to keep coming back to is what Paul says in Romans, “If God is for us who can be against us?” Those are brilliant words for those who know Christ. We need not worry because Christ …IS…FOR…US! What are some of the things you worry about? Why do you find it so hard to turn those over to God? What is the number one worry that you need to let go of today? How will you live in power and not timidity this week?

.

LIVE:

Sit for a moment, close your eyes and try to put yourself in the culture that Jesus lived. No running water, poverty, multiple gods, incurable disease, and a multitude of other problems. It seems as if worry was an essential part of living, yet they
found hope in a savior named Jesus. He was bigger than their circumstance. Look for ways to make Jesus bigger than your circumstance.

.

We sang “It Is Well” after reading about the composer (Horatio Spafford).  Read his story here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/It_Is_Well_with_My_Soul Or watch it here:

Then we ended with this

 

Still by Hillsong

Hide me now
Under your wings
Cover me
within your mighty hand

When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with you above the storm
Father you are king over the flood
I will be still and know you are God

Find rest my soul
In Christ alone
Know his power
In quietness and trust

 

.

.

I’m SO thankful that my cousin shared this with me.  And I’m thankful that her pastor taught about this.  But most of all, I’m thankful that it’s true–there really is no need to worry because God is in control.

.

.

–Staci

.

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

4 responses to “Worry

Leave a Reply

