Harry Potter Accomplishment – By M

Just a short post to say that I’m not a reader.  The only time I ever would read anything would be the comic strip in the Sunday paper, directions (yes, I am not too prideful a man to read directions), and what I was forced to read in school.

However, since marriage, Staci –as many of you know– is a HUGE (and I emphasize that word immensely) reader.  And she’s gotten me more turned on to reading.  It started by her getting me hooked onto Ted Dekker, whom we’ve mentioned in other posts (He is an awesome Christian Fiction writer).

Last fall, Staci and I decided to watch through the Harry Potter movie series, and I found them actually pretty enjoyable (Although, to be upfront, I couldn’t recommend them for anyone younger than 13 or 14 even with PG and PG-13 ratings).  Anyhow, Staci decided that she wanted to read through the series.  So we bought books 1-7 and Staci finished all 7 books between September and November when “The Deathly Hallows – Part 1” came out.  Staci convinced me to start reading the series.  I can’t exactly remember when I started, but I finished up book 7 just a couple of days ago.

I have to admit, the books are REALLY good (but would, once again, not recommend them to the younger people).   I know the books and movies have caught a lot of flack from the Christian community about wizardry and witch craft, but my opinion is that the books make it clear that there is good, and there is evil, and Love is the most powerful “magic” of all.  But a full review and argument for my case on the books/movies would probably be due in another post that I’ll probably never write….

So all that to say that I finished 7 books, which equalled 4,100 pages of mystical, magical mischief!  Only my fifth series of books to ever finish (Left Behind -LeHaye/Jenkins, Circle Series -Dekker, Paradise Novels -Dekker, The Lost Books -Dekker).  So… go me!

Any good books that you’ve read lately, or goals that you’ve accomplished?

.

.

– M

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

4 responses to “Harry Potter Accomplishment – By M

  • reneamac

    I’m rereading through the series right now myself. They are the only books apart from The Chronicles of Narnia (and the Bible) I’ve read more than once, and the only reason I reread the Narnia series was because I had to for a Lewis lit class. Not that they aren’t worth rereading; I’m just not typically a rereader. But the HP series keeps me coming back time and time again (this is my third reading; I have no idea how many times I’ve watched all the movies) because of the characters. You grow so attached to them over the course of seven books.

    And you’re right, HUGE allusions and applications to the Biblical narrative.

    • mselizondo

      Haha! Wow! Three times! That’s pretty incredible. I’d probably have to give it some time (aka more than a few years) before I read them again. Thanks for replying! 🙂

      -M

    • mselizondo

      When Michael told me that he’d gotten a reply, I asked if it was you–because I know what a huge HP fan you are. 🙂 I’m SO glad I re-read the first 4 and read the last 3 for the first time. I’m sure I’ll read all of them again someday…they’re definitely near the top of my list.

      –Staci

  • Quick Update – By M « Our Family E

    […] Harry Potter week is also coming up with our students.  That’ll be fun.  I’m excited for the 7th […]

Leave a Reply

