Sno Cone Quest

Sno cones = summer.

For as far back as I can remember, I’ve equated sno cones with summer.  In Ada (where I grew up, and where Michael and I lived for 2.5 yrs before we moved down to Beaumont), there are sno cone stands ALL over the town.  Car dealerships, shopping center parking lots, car wash areas, Wal-Mart lots, gas stations,  you name it–there are sno cone stands there.  From Memorial Day to Labor Day, you can expect to see cars in line for over an hour just to get a sno cone.

And it’s always worth it.

So, naturally, the closer we got to Memorial Day, the more excited I was for sno cones (even though they should break out the sno cone stands around February here…but that’s another story).  I kept looking for them everywhere we went.

And there were NONE.

Over the past week, it’s become somewhat of an obsession.  My eyes are peeled as we’re driving down the road, and Michael is really tired of me saying “I just want a cherry limeade sno cone!”

Today, I was determined to find a stand.  I had my sno cone eyes trained on every parking lot in sight.  And nada. But I didn’t give up.  We went to see our house (more on that later), and I convinced Michael to drive to the other highway in town to see if there was one there.  We turned into a gas station to turn around at the end of town…

And that’s when I saw it…

MR. BUBBLES SNO CONES! dun-dun-dun!

So, of course, we pulled in and tried to gather our change and get in line before the guy that pulled up after us did.  And we succeeded.  I ordered my cherry limeade, and waited for my cup o’ goodness.

And I was slightly let down.

I mean, it was ok…but it was more like the kind you get at a park.  You know, with the more crunchy ice and the fake tasting syrup.  I had my heart set on the perfection that is an Ada sno cone:  Super small shaved ice–the kind in the above picture, clear lime flavoring–aka more “real”, a hint of cherry, and fresh squeezed limes on top.  Mmmmm…yum.

Maybe we’ll have better luck next time.  And if not, a crunchy sno cone is better than no sno cone!

.

Q for you:  What’s your favorite sno cone flavor? Sno cone stands: are there lots, some, or none where you live?

.

–Staci

.

P.S.  If you’re from Ada, go enjoy a sno cone for me!  And realize just how good you have it…apparently sno cones aren’t so abundant as I thought.  🙂

.

.

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

2 responses to “Sno Cone Quest

  • Chrissy

    LUCKY! Our town has NO snowcone stands WHATSOEVER!!! I am with you in that snowcones define summer. I worked at one in high school and it was the best job ever! My favorite flavors are clear coconut OR strawberry with cream. I am constantly on the lookout for stands as well!

Leave a Reply

