What Songs Move You? – By M

“You moooove me, Baby!”  …Have any of you heard of Mark Lowry?  He’s an old school, 90s, Christian comedian and song parody writer.  He’s known for great hits such as this (click “this” for the link) remake of “Place in this World” by Michael W. Smith, and this remake of the classic “I Surrender All” by Clay Crosse.  He also does stand up, and one of his sketches is talking about how we say, “I love you with all my heart” because the heart is the seat of the emotion.  However, in the Bible the seat of the emotions was the bowels, and he dares his audience to imagine saying to your significant other “I love you with all my bowels, Honey.”  Then makes a joke about a husband telling his wife… “ooooh baby, you move me!”  Anyway, I guess you can make the connection (hopefully those bowels aren’t doing too much movement, if you know what I mean)… and this pretty much has nothing to do with the rest of my post

.

Well, ok, it does.  Recently, aka yesterday, Staci and I put up a post about music that we really like.  And as I thought about why we like music, I realized that we are drawn certain types of music, movies, art, etc because it moves us… (so you see my train of thought now.  Sadly, Mark has ruined me to think of him every time I think of being “moved”).  And now I’ve totally ruined what comes to your mind when somebody says that they’ve been moved by something (yay, I’m not alone anymore!)

So I was thinking about songs that move me, and I wanted to share them with you.  I know that I’ve probably ruined all seriousness in this post, but hopefully we can all get back on track and you can appreciate these songs:

This first one is actully an instrumental piece from the show LOST.  As many of you know, Staci and I are pretty big LOST fans.  Variations of this theme are played during very serious, heart warming/heart breaking, moments in the show.  But even if you haven’t seen the show and couldn’t pictur action to this music, listen and enjoy because this piece is really beautiful.  I hope you like it.

This next song is more upbeat and just gets me excited (It’s also not instrumental).  It’s by a band called MUTEMATH and the song is called “Typical”.  (The music video is pretty cool too, so enjoy.)

This is another upbeat song that puts me in a good mood everytime I hear it, and it basically makes me want to act like the guy in the music video.  This is “Count Me In” by Leeland.

For this last one, it’s not so much the song as it is the music video that always gets me.  Some of you may have read this post about how over the past few years I’ve become more of a cry baby when it comes to movies and such.  Well this one makes the water works turn on everytime.  This is “SMS (Shine)” by the David Crowder*Band.

.

Obviously there are a ton more songs out there that move me; the song by Gungor that we posted in our last blog, plenty of Jars of Clay, Mat Kearney, and other David Crowder*Band songs, many many worship song, and more, but I won’t bore you to death.  And I hope you can find these songs enjoyable and moving.

I’d love to know:  What songs move you?

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

Leave a Reply

