Baby Update with Ultrasound Pics

This past month has been great!  I got my energy back sometime in the middle-end of December, and the last time I was sick was December 30.  Even though I’ve still had some food aversions and I’ve had headaches more frequently, I’m loving the second trimester so far!

The last time we had a baby update was the middle of December, so here are my weekly pictures between then and now.  And then I’ll put our most recent ultrasound pictures at the end.

.

Week 11

Week 12

Week 13 (before Christmas Eve Service at Church)

Week 14

Week 15

Week 16

Week 17 (current)

I started week 17 of my pregnancy on Thursday.  This past week was full of milestones!

  • I finally gained weight!!  I know this sounds silly to rejoice about this, but I was really worried that the baby might be affected by my lack of weight gain.  I was supposed to have gained between 4 and 8 pounds, and I hadn’t gained anything.  Between last week and this week, I gained 3 pounds!
  • My waist grew half an inch in a week!
  • I ate two salads.  I hadn’t been able to eat any veggies in months.
  • and….most importantly…

I felt the baby move for the first time!  Michael and I were driving to Houston for a meeting on Tuesday, and I kept feeling like I needed to go to the restroom.  But we stopped, and I didn’t really need to go.  Then I realized that I was probably feeling the baby.  The baby had been really low when I went to the doctor last time.  They had to move the heart-hearing doppler and the ultrasound thing really low to hear the heartbeat and see the baby.  I kept feeling this off and on all day.  At the meeting, I asked one of the ladies who is a little further along than me (and she has 3 other kids) if this could be what I’m feeling, and she said definitely!

While we were at IKEA looking at work office furniture and baby stuff, Michael poked on my belly and the baby went crazy!  There have been other times since then that Michael has talked to the baby and rubbed my belly and the baby has started moving around.  It’s so sweet!  It seems so crazy that the baby can already recognize Michael’s touch and voice.

I just can’t describe how amazing it is to know that there really is a human being growing inside of me.  I am so blessed, and I feel so privileged to be able to carry our child for these 9 months.

.

Now it’s time for ultrasound pictures!

We had our doctor appointment on the 18th.  We were so excited that we were able to have an ultrasound because we hadn’t had one since Week 6, and the baby just looked like a little dot with a heartbeat.  This time they looked like a tiny real baby!

Here you can see his or her little profile.  The left is the head, and then you can see the spine to the right.  If you look closely, you can even see the little nose facing down.

I think one of the things I was most amazed by was the spine.  It was incredible to be able to see all of those little bones working together to help the baby move.  And they definitely moved!  We have a very active little one.  They were moving all around.  In fact, he or she was moving around so much that it was hard to tell if the baby is a he or she.  When she was looking for the gender, the baby kept going lower and lower and trying to play hide and seek with the doppler!  But we will definitely know if its a boy or a girl when we go back in 2 weeks.

And one of the cutest things was his or her hand.  It was all over the place.  Our ultrasound tech also captured this picture.  They’re giving us the thumbs up sign!

Having this recent ultrasound just made things seem that much more real.  It was such a special time for Michael and me.  I can’t even put into words how blown away we are that God would give us this gift of life.  We’re already looking forward to the next time we can see Baby!

.

.

–Staci

.

 

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

4 responses to “Baby Update with Ultrasound Pics

Leave a Reply

