It’s A……..

On Monday, we went to the doctor and had another ultrasound.  It turns out we are having a…

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

BOY!

 

.

We are SO excited!  We were going to be ecstatic either way, but it is so good to know!

Here are some things we’re really excited about with him being a little boy (Michael’s thoughts in italics):

  • Boys are so much fun to play with
  • Boys Don’t Break Daddy’s Heart
  • Boys are cheaper
  • Rough Housing/Wrestling/sports/etc.
  • Dad and Son bonding Time!
  • I can just picture the house being filled with little boy noises–trucks, guns, and everything else a little boy has to sound out as he plays
  • Boys have way less drama
  • He will have a boy cousin that’s only around 5 months older than him.  They’ll be best buddy-cousins!
  • Boys Are Cheaper!!!! (did we already say that?)
  • All of the monster and dinosaur baby boy clothes are adorable
  • All of the monster and dinosaur baby boy clothes are MANLY and AWESOME!!!!

.

We’ve also decided the name already.  Actually, we’re over-achievers and had first child and second child boy and girl names picked out already.  But that’s besides the point.  🙂  His name will be:

.

Josiah Michael Elizondo

.

A little background information…  We love the story of Josiah in the Bible (2 Kings 21:24-23:30).  He became king of Judah at the age of 8.  2 Kings 22:2 says,

He did what was right in the eyes of the LORD and followed completely the ways of his father David, not turning aside to the right or to the left.

While there were some other good kings in Israel and Judah, 2 Kings 23:25 says,

Neither before nor after Josiah was there a king like him who turned to the LORD as he did—with all his heart and with all his soul and with all his strength, in accordance with all the Law of Moses.

He destroyed all of the false gods and places where false worship was practiced, and he turned the people of Judah back to God.  They began following the Law again and they celebrated Passover for the first time in many, many generations.

We just love his story–how such a young boy can live his life for God and impact an entire nation.

After we decided to name him Josiah, we looked up the meaning in one of my pregnancy apps.  It means “God heals” or “Jehovah has healed.”  This is absolutely perfect for us because God healed my body in order for us to even be able to have him.  We are so blessed.

.

Thank you for letting us share our story with you!  We’re so excited about our little boy!

.

.

–Michael and Staci

.

Q for you:  Any tips on raising boys?  Any other reasons to add to our “excited it’s a boy” list?

.

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

14 responses to “It’s A……..

  • Chrissy

    Congratulations! What a precious name with an even more precious meaning. So excited for you both!

  • Rachel

    Yay for a boy! I absolutely LOVE the name Josiah. That’s one of the names I would have liked for my future future future baby, haha. I just wasn’t so sure it went with Howard’s last name! I wish there were more biblical names for girls too. I love Hannah, but there are so many people in my life with that name already.

    Anyway, I don’t know much about really raising boys since I’m not a mom, but I was 14 when my younger brother was born. I would like to raise my own son to be a polite and kind gentleman (ex. I have so many students who get upset or don’t understand why I have the girls go into the room first, maybe I’m just old-fashioned!), but I’m sure baby Josiah will pick that up automatically just from watching you and Michael interact!

    • mselizondo

      Thanks! We like it a lot. I know…it seems like there are more Biblical girl middle names than first names. I completely agree. We definitely want to raise him to be a gentleman. 🙂

  • Meghan

    Congrats! I’m so happy for you two! Having a little boy is a ton of fun. Here’s another thing about little boys…they love their mamas! My little guy is such a cuddler and I love it. And by the way, I think I’ve spent more money on his clothes than I did for our daughter! I’m always buying him stuff. The other night my husband was talking about him playing hockey. No way! That is the most expensive sport out there (he played as a kid). I said I’m fine with him playing baseball, which is his favorite sport and he still plays. It’s way cheaper too!

    • mselizondo

      Thanks! Aw, yay! He already seems to be a cuddler. Sometimes I’ll put my hand on my stomach and he’ll move to push his body right up next to it. 🙂 Really?? I’d think girl clothes would be so much more fun. But then again, we go crazy over the boy clothes in the stores. Oh my goodness–I bet! And it’s super dangerous. Baseball is a much better option. 🙂

  • Alicia Moore Peak

    DON’T say if it is when!!! When they break, scratch, dislodge, eat, belch, pass gas and all of that other boy stuff!!! Just expect it and pray that they only do it at home and not in public!LOLOLOL

  • Jamie

    One of my favorite saying, ” You just have to worry about your boy, with a girl you have to worry about all the boys!” LOL Congrats on your baby boy bundle of joy.

  • hertzfamily

    Staci,
    Not sure if you remember me from the Dis (khertz) but I know we followed each other’s TRs awhile back. I remembered I had this blog bookmarked and came to see what was going on with y’all…how exciting to see this as the first post to come up!! Many congratulations to you both, you will be amazing parents!

    Love the name! We had our little boy in October 2010, and I can’t even begin to tell you how amazing it is to become a mother! He is the absolute light of our lives, and so often we look at each other and ask, “How on earth did we ever feel complete before we had him?” At only 16 months, he is rambunctious as ever, and a total daredevil! It is so hard to keep a straight face when he does something he’s not supposed to and you receive a big grin in response to your scolding.

    We took him on his first WDW trip last year just after he turned one, and it was such an incredible trip and we made some amazing memories. I can’t wait until you can do the same with little Josiah! WDW will be like a whole new place when you take your child.

    Anyway, congrats!! I guess I will have to pop over here more often to keep up with everything. Hopefully you remember me so I don’t sound too crazy! lol

    • mselizondo

      Of course I remember you! I actually logged on to the DIS for the first time in about a year and saw your TR. I subscribed, but I haven’t had a chance to read it and catch up. Your little boy is ADORABLE!! From what I saw, it looked like an amazing trip. I’m really excited for ours! I’ve already started big time planning. Thanks so much!

  • 2 Years Later – By M « Our Family E

    […] – Got Pregnant!  And shared our story!  And found out he was a boy! […]

Leave a Reply

