New Music

Recently, Staci and I were opened up to a new world of music thanks to Catalyst.  I have to admit that I am a bit of a music snob, and I’ve really had a hard time finding some new stuff that I really like.  On a similar note, I also have to admit that my favorite type of music just doesn’t really exist anymore.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying say that no new music is good, I’m just a bit of a snob over it (one of my downfalls).

.

Anyway, I digress… As I stated above, I have found some new stuff (some might even call it trendy stuff) that I really like.

I (Michael) will be in plain text while…

Staci will be in italics

ps… for those of you who have read our shared blog posts before, this is kind of the opposite of what we do. So I hope we don’t throw you off 🙂

You can click on the artist’s name and it will take you to their official site, by the way.

.

Gungor

One band that we both have really grown to love is Gungor.  This is a youtube video of my favorite song of theirs.  This particular version is of them doing it in the forest “unplugged,” if you will.  It’s pretty cool, and the album version is even better.

In all honesty, I didn’t want to go to their concert the night they were playing at Catalyst.  So we just walked around and looked at merchandise and things until it was time for the speaker.  But then when we heard them play after the speaker, we were blown away.  We’ve loved them ever since.

 

Seryn

I’ve found myself playing this song over and over while I do graphic design stuff for church.  They just inspire creativity.  When they played at Catalyst, you could just look around and see people with their mouths open.  We were all mesmerized.

 

The City Harmonic

The City Harmonic is another really awesome up-and-coming band.  We gave away there EP at church and the student who got it said that she really really liked it…  Confirmation from a teenager, that makes TCH legit!

This is another CD that I’ve been playing over and over while I do graphic design stuff.  I hope they come out with another album soon.

………..

A couple of other “not-so-new” bands that we really enjoy, and would love to share with you are:

NewWorldSon (yes it’s all supposed to be one word like that).

I actually heard “There is a Way” on K-Love driving home from work one day.  I didn’t know who sang it, but the next time we heard it on the radio, we wrote down some lyrics to find out who sang it (don’t you love technology?!).  We really like them a lot! 

One of my favorite things about them is that each of their songs is unique, with an overarching blues feel.  Good vocals, good music, good lyrics, great album!

 

NEEDTOBREATHE

This is a bit older band, NEEDTOBREATHE.  You may have heard this song of theirs…

 

Dave Barnes

Dave Barnes has been one of my favorite artists for the past 6 years.  This is one of his newer songs, but I also really like his old stuff.  Oh–and a bonus is that he makes goofy videos and can make fun of himself on youtube.  See example HERE.

 

The [M]useum

This one is kind of a shout out to a friend of mine (Ben Richter) who is the front man of the band.  Their lyrics are really honest and one of my favorite aspects of the band is their desire to make a difference with more than just their music.  They just released a single “Not For Sale” (click to download).  This song is a way that they hope to raise awareness of the human trafficking going on across the world.

.

.

We could go on and on, but I think that’s enough for today.  We hope you enjoy!  And maybe you’ll even find a new favorite artist.  🙂

.

–Staci AND Michael

.

Q for you:  Who is one artist/band we should all check out?

.

 

About mselizondo

We've been married since December of 2008, and our son, Josiah, was born in July of 2012. We love spending time with family, running, music, traveling, and reaching out to others as a family. View all posts by mselizondo

4 responses to “New Music

Leave a comment